Level 3 Certificate in Financial Studies

Back to Key Information

About the qualification

This course encourages students to become responsible borrowers and sensible savers, and to appreciate the need for financial planning throughout their life. It prepares them for further study by developing the core skills of critical analysis and evaluation, verbal communication (through classroom discussion) and written communication.

The qualification is equivalent to one A level (same UCAS points, graded A-E).


There are two units both of which are mandatory.

Each unit is assessed through a combination of multiple choice questions (Part A) and a written paper (Part B).

A total of 200 marks are available – 100 marks per unit.

The pass mark for Part A will be 40% (14/35) of the raw marks. The pass mark for Part B will be set for each session to reflect any small variations in question paper difficulty.

To pass the unit, students must achieve the minimum pass mark for both Part A and Part B

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now